After the rains.

DSC_4747
Water flowed like a creek for three days!

My last post was on the gloriousness of rain. At that time, we were in the midst of some nice rain which lasted for 4 days or so, off and on, and lots of it. Then, this past Tuesday we had a huge gully washer in the evening, the likes of which my yard nor I have seen perhaps ever.

All in all, Central Virginia got nearly 10.5″ (26.67cm) during the month of May, some places more than others, with we being in the “some places”. I swear, Tuesday’s rain had to be 2-3″ in just a half hours’ time. And May ain’t over. I’m not complaining, just passing on the news.

I’ve talked before about our dry creek bed I installed over the last few years, adding to it when necessary. Well, it had its hardest test to date this past week.

DSC_4798

The water was flowing so fast and so quick, that it actually moved some of the rocks out into the lawn! That has never happened before. Water is powerful stuff! As of this morning, the ground in the backyard that took the brunt of the water is still sopping wet. It washed mulch and leaves out into the lawn, scouring the ground in some places. I will have to assess the situation and add more rocks in strategic places in the next few months.

Update: The copper tape came in. I attached it to all the benches for the orchids and houseplants we moved outside for the summer. I’ll let you know if this works.

DSC_4800
Copper tape is supposed to keep the slugs and other critters off the plants. Apparently, they don’t like copper.

Please enjoy some photos from around the garden from this week!

DSC_4794
Daylily
DSC_4790
Japanese Maple seeds
DSC_4786
Smoke tree with its wonderful color

DSC_4782DSC_4779DSC_4774

DSC_4773
Rose in soft light

DSC_4771DSC_4750DSC_4748

DSC_4799DSC_4797DSC_4795

© 2020 Michael Roseberry. Most photos taken with Nikon D3300.

2 thoughts on “After the rains.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.